Early Career Award

ESRA awards an Early Career Award at each biennial conference, based on papers submitted for presentation at the conference. The author(s) of the winning paper are announced at the conference dinner, and the first author receives a cash award of Є500. Papers are welcome in any field related to survey research broadly defined, must be 9000 words maximum, and are judged based on the quality of research design, originality, significance, organization, and presentation. The papers are completed versions of proposals accepted by the organisers for presentation at the ESRA conference. The competition is open to researchers within two years of the completion of their doctorate or within five years of starting a career in survey research. The winning paper is selected by a review committee comprising survey researchers who are members of the ESRA board and by an extra external member.

Submissions are made via the Conference Management System. Read the call for the Early Career Award 2021.

2019 Early Career Award: Felicitas Mittereder

Felicitas Mittereder from Facebook received the Early Career Award for her paper “Can We Predict Breakoff and Intervene Appropriately in Web Surveys?­”

"This paper presents an innovative, complex, and elegant study with potentially valuable implications for many users of web surveys. The study addresses the problem of breakoff--i.e., survey respondents quitting a web survey partway through. Mittereder models the probability of breakoff by different kinds of respondents, using data from a large survey conducted on staff and students at the University of Michigan. She then uses the fitted model to predict the risk of breakoff, page-by-page, and randomly assigns half of the respondents to receive a reminder message encouraging them to continue the survey. She finds that even a very basic reminder can help to reduce breakoff, a finding which should give many of us added reason to make confident use of this simple, low-cost technique for increasing the value of our web surveys. The study is sophisticated and convincing in its methodology, and the paper is clear and succinct in its presentation and discussion.”


Past recipients:

2017 Winner: Christoph Zangger, University of Bern

Honorable mentions: Andreas C. Goldberg and Christian Czymara

2015 Winner: Christoph Kern, University Duisburg-Essen

Honorable mentions:  Marco Haenssgen and Cynthia McLauchlan

2013 Winner: Daniel Oberski, Utrecht University

2011 Winner: Jorre Vannieuwenhuyze, SGS