ESRA logo

ESRA Early Career Award

The ESRA Early Career Award recognises the best paper presented by an early career researcher at the biannial conference.

Nomination process: The competition is open to researchers within two years of the completion of their doctorate or within five years of starting their career in survey research. Papers are welcome in any field related to survey research and are full papers (max. 9,000 words) of abstracts accepted for presentation at the ESRA conference. The papers will be judged by a review committee (members of the ESRA Committee and an external member) based on the quality of research design, originality, significance, organization and presentation. The authors of the winning paper are announced at the conference dinner and the first author receives a cash award of €500.

Past recipients:

Winners: Daniel Krähmer and Laura Schächtele, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU), Germany

Winner: Anne Elevelt, Utrecht University

Winner: Felicitas Mittereder, Facebook

Winner: Christoph Zangger, University of Bern
Honourable Mention: Andreas Goldberg, University of Amsterdam; Christian Czymara, University of Cologne

Winner: Christoph Kern, University of Duisburg-Essen
Honourable Mention: Marco Haenssgen, University of Oxford; Cynthia McLauchlan, University of Waterloo

Winner: Daniel Oberski, Tilburg University

Winner: Jorre Vannieuwenhuyze, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Honourable Mention: Ian Brunton-Smith, University of Surrey; Rafael Studer, University of Zürich; Dmitryi Poznyak, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven