Best Paper Award

The ESRA Best Paper Award is offered to authors of the highest quality publications in the journal Survey Research Methods. The aim of the award is to increase the journal's visibility and act as an additional incentive for attracting high quality papers to the journal.

Nomination process: Nominations for the award are made by the Editor and Associate Editors of Survey Research Methods from among all papers published in the journal during the two calendars preceding the year in which the award is presented. The winning paper is then elected by a subcommittee of the ESRA Committee. The authors of the winning paper receive a certificate at the conference dinner.

Past recipients:

2021 Caroline Vandenplas, Koen Beullens, and Geert Loosveldt (2019). Linking Interview Speed and Interviewer Effects on Target Variables in Face-to-Face Surveys. Survey Research Methods, 13(3), 249-265.
2019 Kazimierz M. Słomczyński, Przemek Powałko, and Tadeusz Krauze (2017). Non-unique Records in International Survey Projects: The Need for Extending Data Quality Control. Survey Research Methods, 11(1), 1-16.
2017 Marc Höglinger, Ben Jann, and Andreas Diekmann (2016). Sensitive Questions in Online Surveys: An Experimental Evaluation of Different Implementations of the Randomized Response Technique and the Crosswise Model. Survey Research Methods, 10(3), 171-187.
2015 Jolene D. Smyth, Kristen Olson, and Alian Kasabian (2014). The Effect of Answering in a Preferred Versus a Non-Preferred Survey Mode on Measurement. Survey Research Methods, 8(3), 137-152.