2017 Awards

2017 Outstanding Service Award: Edith DeLeeuw
The ESRA board awarded the 2015 prize for Outstanding Service to Survey Research to Edith DeLeeuw.  Edit DeLeeuw is professor in survey methodology and statistics at the University of Utrecht. Her extensive service record includes co-organizing four international conferences on data collection, quality, and survey methodology and statistics, and organizing and teaching numerous international workshops. She was executive secretary of the social sciences chapter of the Netherlands society for statistics and operations research (VVS), president of the international research committee on logic and methodology of the International Sociological Association (ISA), and she served on the scientific advisory boards of national and international organizations (e.g. NWO, ZUMA, ILO). She is council member of the International Association of Survey Statisticians (IASS) of the International Statistical Institute and member of the scientific board of the Swiss Foundation for research in Social Sciences (FORS).  In addition to all her service, she has published more than 20 articles in Dutch, over 30 articles in international scientific journals, and over 50 chapters in Dutch and International books.

2017 Early Career Award: Christoph Zangger
Christoph Zangger from the University of Bern was awarded the early career prize for his paper “Bringing Space into the Equation: Examining the Social Mechanisms of Neighborhood Effects on Educational Outcomes”.  Using spatial statistics, this paper shows how the interdependence of parental educational motivation within neighborhoods crucially shapes students’ transition to the more advantageous school track. The prize committee noted that the paper was also very well written.

Honorable mentions:  Andreas C. Goldberg and Christian Czymara

2017 Best Paper in SRM Award: Marc Hoglinger, Ben Jann, and Andreas Diekmann
The award for the best paper published in ESRA’s journal Survey Research Methods in 2015-2016 goes to Marc Hoglinger (University of Bern), Ben Jann (University of Bern), and Andreas Diekmann (ETH Zurich). The winning paper, entitled “Sensitive Questions in Online Surveys: An Experimental Evaluation of Different Implementations of the Randomized Response Technique and the Crosswise Model”, was published in SRM in 2016 (Volume 10). It makes an important contribution to what we know about methods for asking sensitive questions in surveys, based on a clever online experiment examining different versions of the Randomized Response Technique (RRT). The paper includes an impressively clear discussion of the issues, and presents the results effectively, showing that the specific version indeed makes a difference. The paper concludes with a very careful, measured statement about what we can conclude from the study.