Minutes from the General Assembly Reykjavik 2015

The minutes from the 2013 Assembly in Ljubljana were agreed without changes.

President's report

Patrick Sturgis noted that ESRA is going from strength to strength. This year’s conference has over 150 more delegates than in 2013. The ESRA committee has a better gender balance now, which is to be welcomed. Plans are in place for a review of procedures and structure. There will be in the future conference bursaries for early career or PhD researchers. The general strategy of the association is proving successful and continuity is the expectation for the next two years.

Treasurer report

Jon Burton presented the Treasurer’s report.

Survey Research Methods report

Ulrich Kohler presented the report of ESRA’s journal.

Incoming Conference Chair

Annelies Blom presented plans for the 2017 conference and invited proposals from potential hosts. She emphasised the need for reasonable costs, sufficient rooms and good accommodation.

New rule

Patrick Sturgis introduced a motion about new term lengths. The proposal was to increase to eight years maximum service on the committee for a person who serves as president. This is to ensure that potential presidential candidates are not disbarred from eligibility if they have served four years on the committee. This motion was passed by the assembly.


All candidates were elected unopposed.


Eldad Davidov

University of Zurich


Bart Meueleman

Catholic University of Leuven

Chair of the Scientific Committee

Annelies Blom

University of Mannheim

Vice-Chair of the Scientific Committee

Caroline Roberts

University of Lausanne

General Secretary

Nick Allum

University of Essex


Jon Burton

University of Essex

Representative of the Survey Research Methods Journal

Ulrich Kohler

University of Potsdam

Committee member (bursaries)

Annette Scherpenzeel

SHARE – Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe, Munich

Committee member (prizes)

Malcolm Fairbrother

University of Bristol

Committee member (Membership chair)

Stephanie Eckman

RTI International

Committee member (Communications)

Alexandru Cernat

University of Manchester

Committee member (prizes)

Matthias Schonlau

University of Waterloo

Committee member

Jelke Bethelehem

Leiden University

Committee member

Gerry Nicolaas

Ipsos MORI

New President’s address

Eldad Davidov, the incoming president, discussed future of ESRA and presented a thank-you present of Icelandic schnapps to Patrick Sturgis in recognition of his work as President.

Meeting closed.